Knitted in the Winter: Serkinet

Serkinet.1Serkinet.2

Pattern:  Pullover based on Serkinet cardigan and Easwas hat, both from Kate Davies Designs.

Yarn:  Alpine Exotics (merino/alpaca/silk/cashmere) yarn from Lambspun.  I have had this yarn for many years, and it has been various projects.  Most recently, it was a second version of Koto, by Olga Buraya-Kefelian.  I told myself it was the last time I would recycle the yarn because it really isn’t that sturdy . . . .  But here we are again.  The yarn was hand-dyed, so I tried to use the darker skeins mostly for the collar, cuffs, and bottom ribbing.

Modifications:  I thought the yarn would work better as a pullover than a cardigan, but I do think the cardigan is really cute with its cropped length and full sleeves.  I had knitted the Easwas hat many months ago, and so enjoyed the pattern that I wanted to knit it again, so I used it as the central motif for the back.  I knitted the pullover top-down in-the-round, and decreased the sleeves a bit to modify the fullness above the cuffs.

Thoughts:  Given the right yarn, I would knit Serkinet again as a cardigan.  Kate Davies is one of my favorite designers.  I love her clean lines, unfussy construction, and the aesthetics of her single-color designs.  She knits like a historian.

Leave a comment