Knitting for the Winter: Red Knight (aka Indigo)

Pattern:  A cross between Indigo, from Japanese Inspired Knits by Marianne Isager, and Spanish Knight, from A Collector’s Item by Jade Starmore.  I liked the shape of the jacket, but didn’t want to die of boredom while knitting miles of stockinette stitch, and I had always liked the stitch pattern of Spanish Knight.

Yarn:  Rowan Felted Tweed, in color “Rage.”

Modifications:  Rowan Felted Tweed was of course completely different (smaller) gauge from the specified yarns, but I used the directions for the smallest size and ended up with a jacket that is proportioned just right for my petite frame.  I also made the sleeves full length.

Thoughts:  I love the quiet Spanish Knight cable pattern in the tweed yarn.  Not that I’ll ever do this again, but I should have modified the collar so that it drops less in the front.  I enjoyed knitting this jacket, and love Rowan Felted Tweed — despite the yardage required, the jacket is light but still warm to wear.

Leave a Reply

