Knitting from the Winter: Fuse Cardigan, Pentagon Aran Pullover, Phyllo Yoked Pullover, Kaari redux

Spring cleaning continues, and I am finally documenting the sweaters I finished months ago:

Fuse Cardigan
Fuse Cardigan

Pattern: Fuse Cardigan, by Veronik Avery, from Brooklyn Tweed Wool People Vol. 2, Winter 2012.

Yarn:  Woolen spun sport weight Cormo yarn from Elsa Wool Company, in medium grey.

Modifications:  It was a somewhat complex pattern from the shaping point of view, so I think the only thing I did was do the usual tweaks related to my short stature.

Thoughts:  It is a really interesting design, and I appreciate the fact that the cardigan looks good with the neckline draped as well as undraped!

Pattern:  Pentagon Aran Pullover, by Norah Gaughan, from Knitting Nature.

Yarn:  A merino wool-silk-cashmere yarn from Lambspun of Colorado, in clary sage.  I bought this yarn years ago and in December recycled it from another Norah Gaughan sweater.  It has held up very well.

Modifications:  I made the collar shorter, and changed the sleeves to top-down inset sleeves instead of drop-shoulder sleeves.

Thoughts:  Norah Gaughan rules!  Knitting Nature has some of Norah Gaughan’s best designs; having said that, I really have to squint to see the pentagons . . . .  Still, a great pattern that is a cool alternative to traditional arans.

Phyllo Yoked Pullover

Pattern:  Phyllo Yoked Pullover, by Norah Gaughan, from Knitting Nature.

Yarn:  Rowan Calmer, in mandarin (discontinued).  I confess, I bought the yarn because of the Rowan mystique, and because the fiber makeup of Calmer intrigued me.  The yarn was on closeout, so it was cheap . . . .  but it was orange.  No getting around it, it looks like orange sherbet.  But, the yarn worked perfectly for the pullover, and surprisingly enough, I actually look good in orange!

Modifications:  I shaped the waist, shortened the sleeves, changed the depth of the phyllo lattice, and made the neckline smaller so it wouldn’t fall off my shoulders.  Never did like the 80s off-shoulder thing . . . .

Thoughts:  To this day, I am not convinced that the phyllo yoke pattern works as presented in the book.

Kaari, redux

Pattern:  Kaari, by Norah Gaughan, from Berroco: Norah Gaughan Vol. 1

Yarn:  Handspun, undyed yarn from Lambspun of Colorado.  As with most of my projects these days, the yarn was recycled from another sweater.

Modifications:  I knitted the pullover in the round (I thought the yarn would be sturdy enough not to need seams for structure), and picked up the stitches for the pocket band from bottom and attached it next to the side seam (rather than sewn into the seam).  I didn’t like the curl at the top of the pockets, so did a few rows of seed stitch.  I also wanted to make the neck line narrower, but obviously did not succeed.

Thoughts:  This version of Kaari is more successful than version one, which got recycled into Freija.  I wish the neck were narrower, but other than that, I like the pullover, and the rusticity of the handspun wool is perfect for the whole conception of the sweater.

Leave a Reply

