The Red Thread Quilt

A Red Thread, symbolizing all your ties from the day you are born to those that are and those to be — a thread that can never break.

Almost a year ago, after I finished my very first lap quilt from the Quilting 101 class I took, I started another quilt.  Being very ambitious, I immediately resized the pattern into a twin size, and decided I would hand quilt it.  Never mind that I had never hand quilted anything in my life . . . .  I found some wonderful (and clearance-priced) Michael Miller black-and-white print fat quarters, pieced a simple nine-patch top with piano key border, found a funky red print backing fabric, and started hand quilting.

Did I mention “between” needles are really sharp?

Anyway.  Many months later, many patches later, the quilt is just about done.  The quilting did become easier, although I don’t think my stitches actually improved much over the months.

This is a quilt for my beautiful daughter, the Teenager, the Lemming, and I hope she sees the red thread running around the perimeter, and knows how much I love her.

Red Thread Quilt
The "Opie" patch
Leave a Reply

