Still Knitting in the Winter: Kaari

It occurs to me I have knitted more Norah Gaughan designs in the past couple of years than anything else, though I don’t always keep the pattern intact.  Here, the Kiiri:

The Kiiri (Kaari, modified)

Pattern: Kaari, from Norah Gaughan Collection, Volume 1

Yarn: Shepherd Classic 100% Wool, in “dried rose.”  Brand new yarn bought at a ridiculously low sales price, not recycled from anything!  A well-built, unfancy yarn that bloomed and softened nicely after washing.

Modifications: 1. Knitted the pocket strip first, using the cable pattern from “Reverse Me,” the cover design from Lynne Barr’s book:

Reversible Knitting: 50 Brand-New, Groundbreaking Stitch Patterns

Continued the strip around the back, but in plain stockinette stitch.  2. Body knitted in the round, with pocket lining in a variegated yarn (for excitement) from Interlacements Yarn 3. Neck knitted in stockinette instead of reverse stockinette (just don’t like reverse stockinette). 4. Buttons instead of boring running stitch to divide the pockets — just because I had all these pewter buttons recycled from a 25 year-old project.

Size: I don’t believe in swatching (waiting for the knitting goddess to slap me silly), never have, never will …  I was aiming for a size to fit a 34″ bust, so all my stitch numbers were half-way between the numbers for 32″ and 36″ — and I did indeed end up with a 38″ finished bust measurement.

Thoughts: A fun, floppy, “kicking around” kind of sweater.  The cables keep the pockets from slouching too much when I put my cell phone, keys, and other “stuff” in there.  I also learned that miles and miles of stockinette stitch seem less painful in the round, but I don’t know why that should be the case . . . .

Leave a Reply

