Knitting in the Winter: Folded Mini Dress

Folded Mini Dress

Pattern: Folded Mini Dress, design by Lynne Barr, from Reversible Knitting: 50 Brand-New, Groundbreaking Stitch Patterns

Yarn: Yarn is a merino/silk/alpaca blend originally purchased from Lambspun of Colorado and recycled from another project.  It is very soft and drapes well, but I think this is the third project for this yarn, and the alpaca bits are sticking out all over.

Modifications: I knitted this pretty much according to instructions for size small.  I added an extra 1.5 repeats of the folded pattern and shortened the waist-to-shoulder length (since I am a very short woman).  The only thing I should have done was change to stockinette stitch of the bodice section sooner — as it is now, the ribbed section does not end beneath the bust, but extends too far up.  Oh well.  I am not compulsive enough (anymore) to go back and redo it.

Thoughts: A cool dress, though I’m thinking I am too middle-aged for it.  I love the folded stitch, love the construction of the dress, and although I prefer the stockinette side, the dress is indeed reversible.

Leave a Reply

