Knitting for the Winter: DROPS 117-13, Folded Scarf

Drops Dress.4

Drops Dress.5

Pattern: From Garn Studio,  DROPS 117-13

Yarn: A not-quite-worsted weight merino/silk/alpaca yarn from Lambspun of Colorado.  I believe the color is called “cameo,” the close-up picture is closer to the true color.  I bought the yarn years ago, this is the third recycled project — and because of the angora (don’t know if that’s the goat or the bunny), it should not be frogged again.

Modifications: This is a lighter weight yarn than the pattern called for, so I knitted this from the top down so I could make adjustments along the way.  Because of the row gauge difference, I added a few rows to the yoke pattern, but the nature of the cable motif makes the change not obvious at all.  I also added more waist shaping, and put in a couple more increase rows to the ribbing at the bottom to give it a bit more flare.  Finally, I knitted the body of the dress and sleeves in stockinette rather than reverse stockinette.

What’s great about it: It’s light-weight but warm, fits really well, and goes beautifully with boots 🙂

Folded Scarf

Pattern: Folded Scarf, by Lynne Barr, from Reversible Knitting: 50 Brand-New Groundbreaking Stitch Patterns.

Yarn: Same Lambspun of Colorado yarn as the Drops 117-13 dress.

Modifications: The pattern called for Sheep Shop Yarn Company Sheep 3 held double to achieve a gauge of 13 st = 1″.   That would have been a really bad idea for a really short woman with short neck.  So I resisted the fashion imperative and used a single strand of the light worsted yarn, knitted to ~76″ so that I can wrap it around my neck without looking like the scarf had tried to eat me …

Thoughts on this project: This is one cool scarf, and Lynne Barr is a knitting geek, in a really good way.  I won’t be knitting most of the patterns in the book, mainly because they are awfully fiddly and require too many extra needles (and I happen to think double-pointed needles are the work of the devil) …  but, they are nevertheless truly innovative.  I applaud anyone who can think not just outside the proverbial box, but twirl above and below and all around it!

Leave a Reply

